## Creative Writing (lowa Writers' Workshop)

## **Director**

· Lan Samantha Chang

Graduate degree: MFA in English

**Faculty:** https://writersworkshop.uiowa.edu/faculty **Website:** https://writersworkshop.uiowa.edu/

The Creative Writing Program (Iowa Writers' Workshop) is a world-renowned graduate program for fiction writers and poets. Founded in 1936, it was the first creative writing program in the United States to offer a degree, and it became a model for many contemporary writing programs. In addition to its Master of Fine Arts program, it also offers writing courses for undergraduates.

The Iowa Writers' Workshop has been home to thousands of remarkable writers, including Flannery O'Connor, Raymond Carver, Rita Dove, John Irving, James Alan McPherson, Philip Levine, Jane Smiley, Michael Cunningham, Sandra Cisneros, Marilynne Robinson, Denis Johnson, Mark Levine, Jorie Graham, Charles D'Ambrosio, Ann Patchett, Lan Samantha Chang, Margot Livesey, D.A. Powell, Nathan Englander, Yiyun Li, Elizabeth Willis, Eleanor Catton, Angela Flournoy, Garth Greenwell, Jamel Brinkley and Yaa Gyasi. The program's faculty and alumni include winners of virtually every major literary award, including thirty winners of the Pulitzer Prize, eight recent U.S. Poets Laureate, and numerous winners of the National Book Award, MacArthur Foundation Fellowships, and other major honors. In 2003, the Iowa Writers' Workshop received a National Humanities Medal from the National Endowment for the Humanities—the first awarded to a university and only the second given to an institution rather than an individual.

The Creative Writing Program offers courses for students from other programs of study; summer courses are open to undergraduate and graduate students.

To learn more about the Creative Writing Program's history and faculty, visit the lowa Writers' Workshop website.